Another Chemo Treatment

chemotherapy     Another chemo infusion is in the book now. Yesterday was the second infusion of this round.  I do three consecutive weeks and then I get a week off. Week 2 is also the “short week”- I only get one of the two regular chemo drugs.  

We meet with the oncologist first, to go over blood work and vitals, talk and get a physical exam. Then, if it all looks well, I get the “green light” for chemo that day. (Needless to say, “all looked well”!) She continues to be shocked at how good the thyroid looks and feels. If you remember, that’s where this all started and that’s what was supposed to give me 4-6 months to live….even before they found the other two cancers. It, and the nodes around it, are still necrotic- dead…but the radiation I received early on that focused on the thyroid, as well as the ongoing chemo, seem to be having a positive impact on that area, which I think is why I have been back to actually eating food for some time now and not running everything through a food processor or drink Ensure. Even when you can’t taste much of anything and you have no appetite, after a lifetime of eating food, it’s been really nice to NOT have to eat “blenderized” food at every meal! 

As is always the case with this particular round, the Benadryl just knocks me out- I slept much of the time. (Or as best you can sleep with people coming in and out, checking on things and talking.) The beeping of the IV machine, signaling that the bag of drugs is empty or almost empty, always wakes me up.  

If all goes like “normal”, I will feel pretty good today and tomorrow because I take a drug on the first two days AFTER an infusion that is anti-nausea med with a steroid in it. Then, Saturday will be a “bounce back”- no steroids to fall back on. Sunday is a wild-card day- I never know in advance how I will feel. I just pray I’ll have the strength to get through the morning! So far, so good! (But BOY, when lunchtime on Sunday comes, I am SO looking forward to food and a nap!) 

We shared an infusion room this time with a woman who said, and I quote, “I think in odd way, my cancer diagnosis has been a blessing”. She went on to say that it has made her live life more intentionally. It has drawn her closer to her spouse and children. And it has drawn her closer to God. She feels like she has a story to tell to others going through this. I thought, “Wow! Kindred spirits to us!” (And then I fell asleep and, when I woke up, someone ELSE was in that chair! I missed the “transfer” completely!) 

We continue to focus on the glass being half-full. We continue to embrace each day with grateful thanksgiving. #TheGlovedAvenger #TeamHarris #WarriorOn! #Huzzah! We greatly appreciate your prayers, love and support. Check back regularly or simply subscribe to receive an email every time there is a new post. Thanks for stopping by- I pray you have a blessed day. Please make sure and come back again tomorrow, and stick with Jesus!

2 thoughts on “Another Chemo Treatment

  1. You are so doing God’s work by sharing strength via your experience with chemo, and thus giving hope and inspiration. Thank you. Trust His guidance and know that He will always give back on a greater scale. Prayers for you and yours, as in Roninjax’s comment, and all the best too!

    Like

Leave a comment